All regular (non temporary) staff who work at least half-time (.5 FTE) are eligible. Newly hired staff accrue sick time starting their first pay period and are eligible to use it as soon as it is accrued.
Staff who are not eligible for Reed sick pay may be eligible for Oregon paid sick leave.
When can I use sick pay?
Sick pay is provided for you to use during your own illness and heathcare appointments. Sick pay may also be used to care for family members including a spouse/domestic partner, your biological, adoptive or foster parent or child, your grandparent or grandchild, a parent-in-law or a person with whom you were or are in a relationship of in loco parentis.
If you are out sick for 5 or more consecutive days, you are required to promptly notify HR. You will be placed on a provisional medical leave of absence and may be asked to provide documentation from your healthcare provider. See the leave of absence site for additional information.
Sick pay is not to be used as additional vacation. Sick pay used excessively outside of approved leave of absence or qualifying event is considered a performance matter.
Reporting your sick pay
If you need to use sick pay, tell your supervisor immediately and record the hours that you are away from work on your time sheet in the Employee Self-Service (ESS).
If you are a supervisor, you are responsible for ensuring that sick pay is documented and approved on the timecards of your direct reports. As well, you are responsible for addressing the habitual use of sick pay as a performance matter. Failing to log sick pay is a violation of time and attendance practices.
Accruing sick time
Full and part time staff earn one day of sick time per month; sick time accrual is prorated for part time employees. Staff working 37.5 hours per week will earn 7.5 hours of sick time each month. Staff working 40 hours per week will earn 8 hours of sick time per month. Employees who work alternative schedules, such as four 10-hour days, accrue 8 hours of sick time per month.
Staff can accrue up to 6 months of sick time. This is equivalent to 130 working days, or 975 hours for those who work 37.5 hours per week and 1040 hours for those who work 40 hours per week. After accruing the maximum amount of sick leave, accrual will cease until you use sick leave, then your accrual will resume.
Staff on any unpaid leave, including workers compensation, do not accrue sick time.
To check your sick time balance, log in to Employee Self-Service (ESS).
If you transition to a non-benefited position, your accrued Reed sick leave will be converted to Oregon paid sick leave, up to a maximum of 80 hours.
When leaving Reed employment, all sick leave is forfeited. Unlike vacation, sick time is not an earned benefit; it is intended to be used only in medical circumstances.