Human Resources

Staff & Faculty Committees 2019-2020


This committee’s charge is to review institutional priorities, educate the community, and address current and future concerns related to accessibility issues across the campus.

Robert Brigham  Conference and Events Planning
Jessika Chi  Institutional Diversity
Robin Ford  Library
Jess Gibson  Disability Support Services
Gary Granger  Community Safety
Theresa Lowrie  Disability Support Services
Julie Maxfield  Dean of Students Office
Jason Parker  Web Support Services
Pip Payne  HCC
April Sams  Environmental Health and Safety
Sarah Sharp  Registrar's Office
Clea Taylor  Residence Life
Cypress Williams  Human Resources
Steve Yeadon  Building Maintenance
Alexandra Hrycak Faculty


The Art-Off-The-Clock Committee is charged with planning the annual show of artistic works presented by staff and faculty.

Marianne Colgrove CIS
Toria Ellis  Reactor
Mandy Heaton  Public Affairs
Lin Reedijk  Dean of the Faculty
Fiona Simms  Development


Childcare Committee website

Trina Marmarelli  Instructional Technology
Trina Paniagua  Financial Aid
Cypress Williams Human Resources
Diego Alonso Faculty
Gail Sherman Faculty

Committee on Diversity

The Committee on Diversity is charged with monitoring the programs and policies adopted by the college in pursuing its commitment to diversity and making recommendations about recruitment and under-represented ethnic and racial groups.

Jessika Chi Institutional Diversity
Mary James Institutional Diversity
Milyon Trulove Admission
Michelle Valintis Human Resources
Mark Burford Faculty
Kelly Chacón Faculty
Pancho Savery Faculty
Christian Kroll Faculty
Adam Groce Faculty

Computing Policy

This committee is charged with developing and enacting policies for the use of information technology at Reed College.

Dena Hutto Library
Jolina Kwong Caputo Dean of the Faculty Office
Christine Morita-McVey Computing & Information Systems
Sarah Panetta Development
Jason Parker Web Support Services
Marty Ringle Computing & Information Systems
Mike Tamada Institutional Research
Robert Tust Business Office
Kris Cohen Faculty
Jay Mellies Faculty
Alex Montgomery Faculty
Kritish Rajbhandari Faculty
Steve Wasserstrom Faculty

Excellence Award

This committee is charged with evaluating the Staff Excellence Award nominations received each spring, referring 0-3 recipients to the President for approval.

Composition: the prior year's recipient(s), plus 1 recipient from two years prior

Pharoah Bolding Human Resources
Jessika Chi Institutional Diversity
Bryan Kelly Facilities Services
Josh Tackitt Computer User Services
Katrina Tanner Human Resources
Michelle Valintis Human Resources

Gray Fund

The Gray Fund Committee’s charge is to assist in planning Gray Fund social, recreational and educational events for the community.

Term: 2 academic years, staggered terms

Brittney Corrigan-McElroy Conference and Events Planning
Doris Hall Facilities Services
Will Symms Athletics, Fitness and Outdoor Programs
Hayden Todd Center for Life Beyond Reed
Amanda Weingarten Student Engagement

Honor Council

This committee is charged with being responsible for educating members of the community about the meaning and importance of responsible and honorable conduct. Additionally, this committee provides advice to students seeking resolution of disputes and to informally mediate such disputes prior to more formal action.

Composition: students, faculty, and staff; an equal number of each
Term: 3 academic years; staggered terms

Rachel Gowland Alumni Programs & Annual Fund
Ellen Kotler Institutional Research
Dana Katz Faculty
Radhika Natarajan Faculty
Pancho Savery Faculty


The Legislation Committee is charged with implementing recent changes in governance to the community constitution. 

Frankie Breedlove Admission
Matthew Packwood Dean of the Faculty
Steve Arkonovich Faculty
Paul Hovda Faculty

Quality of Life

Serving on the Quality of Life Committee gives employees an opportunity to evaluate and make recommendations to improve the quality of work life for faculty and staff.

Term: staff: 3 academic years, staggered terms

Maria Cunningham Special Collections
Amy Schuckman Residence Life
Katrina Tanner Human Resources
Megan Watson Performing Arts
Hyong Rhew Faculty
Alan Shusterman Faculty

Reed Union

The Reed Union Committee is charged with assisting in planning and coordinating all-community meetings (Reed Unions) when matters of specific relevance to the Reed community arise.

Term: 2 academic years; staggered terms

Presence O'Neal Biology
Sabrina Smith Alumni Programs & Annual Fund
Alex Montgomery Faculty
Lisa Steinman Faculty

Reed Entertainers Show

The Reed Entertainers Show Committee is charged with planning the annual talent show for staff and faculty.

Kevin Myers Public Affairs
Hailie Roark Technology Infrastructure Services
Taylor Smith Computer User Services


Serving on the Safety Committee gives employees an opportunity to play an important role in keeping our workplace free of hazards. Members attend monthly meetings and conduct quarterly building inspections.

Toria Ellis Reactor
Jay Ewing Physics
Kristine Hayes Biology
Randy Hicks Chemistry
Louise Krampien Art
Kori Lay Environmental Health and Safety
Ry Malloy Audio Visual Services
Brad McMurphy Building Maintenance
April Sams Environmental Health and Safety
Juan Sanchez Building Services
Rusty Tennant Theatre
Dhyana Westfall Community Safety
Cypress Williams Human Resources
Rebecca LaLonde Faculty
Gerri Ondrizek Faculty

Staff Recognition Lunch

This committee is charged with planning the annual recognition lunch to celebrate staff and their service milestones and to present the Staff Excellence Award.

Pharoah Bolding Human Resources
Delana Libbus Business Office
Alicia McGhee Chemistry
Kathy Silke Community Safety


This committee is charged with coordinating the college’s activities in support of sustainability.

Towny Angell Facilities Services
Kori Lay Environmental Health and Safety
Zac Perry Grounds Maintenance
April Sams Environmental Health and Safety
Gerri Ondrizek Faculty
Johnny Powell Faculty
Aaron Ramirez Faculty

Take Your Child to Work Day

The Take Your Child to Work Day Committee’s charge is to plan and coordinate the annual event for children of staff and faculty.

Rachel Gowland Alumni Programs & Annual Fund
Matt Kelly Development
Trina Paniagua  Financial Aid

Title IX Board

The charge of the Title IX Board is to hear all cases brought by any current or former member of the Reed community against any individual who has allegedly committed an act of sexual misconduct while a member of the student body.

Composition: should consist of at least 6 staff together with all members of the student judicial board.

Emma Notario College Relations
Kathy Saitas Development
Martha Schlitt Registrar's Office
Jenn Sonntag Development


Wellness Committee website

The Wellness Committee is charged with developing, promoting, and implementing programs to promote the health and well-being of staff and faculty.

Barbara Amen Special Programs
Lisa Mickola Dean of the Faculty Office
Shania Siron Center for Life Beyond Reed
Leslie White Human Resources