Dean of the Faculty


Faculty Committees 2021-22

Updated April 11, 2022

Download this list (PDF)

Academic Policy and Planning (CAPP)

Faculty: K. Becker*, Cerveny, Cohen, Kroll, Netusil, Renn, Rork
Staff: Bilger, Oleson
Students: M. Becker, Hashimoto, Pandey

CAPP Budget Advisory Subcommittee (CBAS)

Faculty: Cerveny, Kroll, Rork
Ex officio: Bilger, Oleson, Porter, Valenter
Staff: Tust

Academic Success

Faculty: Corpus*, Groce, Luker, Wagner-McCoy
Staff: Gruber, Metz, Schlitt, TBD
Students: Cunningham-Rodriguez, Zenger


Faculty: Hrycak
Staff: Brigham, Brown, Chi, Parker, Simón

Ad Hoc Committee on Accreditation

Faculty: Faletra, Mellies
Staff: Harra, Hudson, Hutto, M. James, McConnell-Black, Metz, Oleson, Tamada

Ad Hoc Committee on Strategic Planning

Faculty: Cerveny, Duffly, Koski, Kroll, McConville
Staff: McConnell-Black, Oleson, Porter*

Administration (AdComm)

Faculty: Ahuja, Brada*, Holmes, Ksander, Monnin
Staff: Maher, TBD

Admission and Financial Aid (AFAC)

Faculty: Carrera, Harkin, Hu, Miyoshi, Perkinson, Scharle*
Staff: McConnell-Black, Sundstrom, Trulove, Valenter
Students: S. Brown, Cunningham-Rodriguez

Advancement and Tenure (CAT)

Faculty: Crocker, Cross, Drumm, Koski, Minardi, Ritz, Rock*
Staff: Oleson
Chair: Bilger

Alcohol and Other Drugs (AOD)

Faculty: Ditter*, Foat, Garrett
Staff: Granger, McConnell-Black, Ochoa
Staff: Oleson, Tamada, TBD
Students: TBD

Appeals and Review (A&R)

Faculty: Nicholson, Scharle, Schneiberg, Whittington
Trustees: Adams, Alt, Noto, Wollenberg
Staff: Bilger, Perlmutter

Art Collection Management (ACMC)

Faculty: Ondrizek, Wang
Staff: Oleson*, Porter, Snyder, TBD
Students: TBD

Bookstore Board

Faculty: Alonso, Rhew
Staff: Tust, Valenter, Valeske
Students: Pandey

Center for Teaching and Learning

Faculty: Miller

Classroom Observation

Faculty: Faletra, D. Fix, Miyoshi, Pearson, Shampay

Combined Degree Programs

Faculty: Essick*, J. Fix


Faculty: Garloff, Wang
Staff: Heaton, Oleson*
Students: M. Becker, Zenger

Community Affairs (CAC)

Faculty: Bedau*, Ditter, Steinman
Staff: McConnell-Black

Community Engagement

Faculty: Duffly, Fortuna*, Wagner-McCoy
Staff: TBD

Computing Policy (CPC)

Faculty: Hochman, Z. Jiang, Kobayashi, McGuffey, Montgomery*, Pearson
Staff: Hutto, Kwong Caputo, V. Moreno, Morita-McVey, Tamada, Tust
Staff: Poliakoff, Sundstrom
Students: Reeder


Faculty: Bowring, Garcia-Bryce*, Kobayashi, Natarajan, Rajbhandari
Staff: Chi, M. James, Trulove, Valintis
Students: Branker-McLean, S. Brown, Cunningham-Rodriguez, Sakai

Faculty Clerk


Faculty Mentors

Faculty: K. Becker, Hovda, Schaack, Whittington

Fellowships and Awards

Faculty: Khan, Knutson (f), López Lerma, Vaidya, Witt, Zornik*
Staff: Harra

General Education

Faculty: Canseco-Gonzalez*, King, Luker, Nighswander, Pommersheim

Graduate Studies (MALS)

Faculty: Bershtein, Breen, Dickson*, Schaack, Silverstein
Staff: Hudson

Grievance Review Panel

Faculty: Currie (f), D. Fix, Franklin, Glasfeld, Hochman, Mann, Millender, Ondrizek, Pearson, Wasserstrom (sp)
(President appoints chair)

Institutional Animal Care and Use (IACUC)

Faculty: Hackenberg*, Hinchliff, Zornik
Staff: Wilkinson
Community: TBD
Veterinarian: Saunders
Students: TBD

Institutional Biosafety

Faculty: Essick*, Fey
Staff: Sams
Community: TBD

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

Faculty: Harper, Khan*, Korobenko, Mann, Pitts*
Staff: Oleson
Community: Magnan, Sipes

Judicial Board (J Board)/Adjudicating Boards

Advisors: Karoly, Scheible

Library Board/IMC

Faculty: D. Fix, J. Jiang, Rajbhandari, Schaack
Staff: Hutto*
Students: Ratliff

Locher Summer Creative Scholarships

Faculty: Bashir, Bredeson, Kobayashi, Ondrizek, Tran

Mentoring for New Faculty

Faculty: Bowring, Whittington
Staff: M. James, Metz

Off-Campus Study Programs (OCSC)

Faculty: Alonso*, Landvatter, Lencek, Silverstein
Staff: Maher, McConnell-Black, Sundstrom, Trulove
Students: TBD


Faculty: Hochman, Osorno
Staff: Yang

Outreach (TAG)

Faculty: Shurman*, Tran, Waller
Staff: Hudson
Parliamentarian Ksander

Physical Plant

Faculty: Hinchliff, Lazier, Novak, Shampay*
Staff: Heaton, Maher, V. Moreno, Oleson, Valenter*
Staff: Yeadon
Students: M. Becker, Hashimoto


Advisors: Cerveny, Currie (f), Shampay

President’s Summer and Winter Fellows/Davis

Faculty: Foat, Leibman

Radiation Safety (RSC) (meets with Reactor Operations)

Faculty: Beck, Gerrity*, Shurman
Ex officio: Newhouse, Sams
Staff: Oleson

Reactor Operations

Faculty: Beck, Gerrity*, Shurman
Staff: Newhouse, Oleson
Student: TBD
Community: Dyer, Lei, Reese

Reed Union

Faculty: Montgomery
Staff: Corrigan-McElroy, Tsang
Students: Marsaw, Reeder

Sabbatical Fellowship Awards

Faculty: J. Fix, Garloff*, Hinchliff, Lazier, Mann

Sex, Gender, and Sexuality (SGS) Studies

Faculty: Bershtein, Harper, Hrycak*, Novak

Student Consultants for Hum 110

Faculty: Miller, Savery
Staff: West

Undergraduate Research

Faculty: Bredeson*, Fey, LaLonde, Landvatter, Nighswander, Waller
Staff: Griffin

Vollum Award for Science and Technology

Faculty: Franklin, Glasfeld, Groce, Osorno, Renn
Staff: Bilger, Oleson, Porter

Interdisciplinary Committees

American Studies

Duffly, Riley, Schneiberg, Wagner-McCoy*

Biochemistry/Molecular Biology (BMB)

Ahuja, Mellies, Rush, Shampay*


Beck, Gerrity

Comparative Literature

Drumm*, Grinberg, J. Jiang, King, López Lerma, Rajbhandari, Stofle

Comparative Race and Ethnicity Studies (CRES)

Bashir (sp), Duffly, Montgomery*, Natarajan, Schneiberg, Vaidya


Ksander, Tran

Environmental Studies (ES)

Glasfeld, Howe*, Koski, Michaels, Netusil

Film and Media Studies

Bershtein, Cohen, Garloff, Grinberg*, Harkin, J. Jiang, López Lerma, Miyoshi, Witt


Breen, Savery


Brada, Howe, Z. Jiang, Montgomery*, Schneiberg


Duffly, Savery

Mathematics/Computer Science

J. Fix, Pommersheim


Perkinson, Rork


Franklin, Korobenko


Cerveny, Currie, Pitts*, Zornik

Religion/Ancient Mediterranean Studies

Foat, Nicholson

Religion/Political Science

GhaneaBassiri (f), Scheible (sp), Steinberger

Committees Formed Under The Community Constitution

Appeals Board

Faculty: Grinberg (sp), Nicholson*, Savery, Steinberger (f), Steinman
Students: S. Brown, C. Park, Zenger

Honor Council

Faculty: Garrett, King*, Savery
Staff: Samuels, Tanner, West
Students: TBD


Faculty: Bedau, Breen
Staff: Maher, Marmarelli
Students: Ratliff, Reeder

Staff-Faculty Committees


Faculty: Franklin, Sherman*
Ex officio: Oleson
Staff: Schroerlucke, Siron


Faculty: Gerrity
Staff: Lydgate, TBD
Staff: TBD

Quality of Life

Faculty: Mellies, Rhew
Staff: Tanner, Valintis*
Staff: Eggleston, Paniagua, Workman


Faculty: Beck, LaLonde*
Ex officio: Ellis, Ewing, Hayes, Hicks, Krampien, Lay, Sams, Santa Rita, Tennant, Westfall, Young
Staff: Malloy, Monsef, Olsen, Perry, Terrie, Toutain, Wilkinson, Williams
Students: TBD


Faculty: Glasfeld*, Michaels
Ex officio: Perry, Sams, Yeadon
Staff: Forbyn, Gonyer, Leonard
Students: Hashimoto, Quintana-Bernal

Title IX Advisory

Faculty: Karoly, Millender
Staff: TBD
Students: Baca, M. Becker, Branker-McLean, Sakai