Biology

Department Calendar

Jump to Important Dates for Seniors or Junior Qual Dates.

Department Events

Seminar Series Schedule

General Important Dates

Wed, Aug 23 Biology Open House (for new students & their families)- 3:15 & 4pm, B7
Mon, Aug 28 Fall Classes Begin
Fri, Sept 1 Summer Student Research Fellow Poster Session
Fri, Sept 8 Approved Independent Study Proposals Due to Registrar
Oct 16-20 Fall break
Nov 23, 24 Thanksgiving break
Wed, Dec 6 Department Holiday Party
Mon, Jan 22 Spring Classes Begin
Fri, Feb 3 Independent Study Proposals Due
Wed, March 8 Biology Dept Summer Reserach Fellowship Applications Due
March 12-16
Spring Break
Wed, May 2 Department BBQ

Biology Senior Thesis Deadlines

Spring ‘17/Fall ‘17 Seniors
(If you are finishing a thesis in fall semester 2017): 


Monday, August 28, 2017
Draft of thesis introduction due no later than noon on the first day of classes for the fall semester, unless other arrangements have been made with adviser

Friday, Sept 22, 2017
Secondary deadline for BURP proposals for thesis funding


Fall ‘17/Spring ‘18 Seniors
(If you are finishing a thesis in spring semester 2017): 


September 6, 2017
Thesis proposals due no later than noon on the second Wednesday of the fall semester

Friday, October 13, 2017
BURP proposals for thesis funding due

Monday, January 22, 2018
Draft of thesis introduction due no later than noon on the first day of classes for the spring semester, unless other arrangements have been made with adviser

Friday, February 16, 2018
Secondary deadline for BURP proposals for thesis funding


Spring ‘18/Fall ‘19 Seniors
(If you are beginning a thesis in spring semester 2016):


­­January 31, 2018
Thesis proposals due no later than noon on the second Wednesday of spring semester

March 9, 2018
BURP Proposals for thesis funding due
 
Monday, August 27, 2018
Draft of thesis introduction due no later than noon on the first day of classes for the fall semester, unless other arrangements have been made with adviser.

Friday, October 12, 2017
Secondary deadline for BURP proposals for thesis funding.

Junior Qual Dates

Thursday, August 31, 2017
For students beginning theses in Fall ’17

Thursday, January 25, 2018

For students beginning theses in Winter ’18

Thursday, March 22, 2018
For students beginning theses in Fall ’18