Biology

Department Calendar

Jump to Important Dates for Seniors or Junior Qual Dates.

Department Events

Seminar Series Schedule

General Important Dates 2018-19

Tues, Aug 21 Biology Open House (for new students & their families)- 2:15 & 3:15pm, B7
Mon, Aug 27 Fall Classes Begin
Fri, Aug 31
Summer Student Research Fellow Poster Session
Fri, Sept 8 Approved Independent Study Proposals Due to Registrar
Fri, Sept 8 Biology Department Welcome Ice Cream Social and Resource Fair
Oct 15-19 Fall break
Nov 22, 23 Thanksgiving break
Wed, Dec 5 Department Holiday Party
Mon, Jan 28 Spring Classes Begin
Fri, Feb 8 Independent Study Proposals Due
Wed, March 6 Biology Dept Summer Reserach Fellowships & Post-bac Applications Due
March 25-29
Spring Break
Wed, May 8 Department BBQ

Biology Senior Thesis Deadlines

Fall ‘18/Spring ‘19 Seniors
(If you are finishing a thesis in spring semester 2019): 


September 5, 2017
Thesis proposals due no later than noon on the second Wednesday of the fall semester

Friday, October 5, 2017
BURP proposals for thesis funding due

Monday, January 28, 2018
Draft of thesis introduction due no later than noon on the first day of classes for the spring semester, unless other arrangements have been made with adviser

Friday, February 16, 2018
Secondary deadline for BURP proposals for thesis funding


Spring ‘18/Fall ‘19 Seniors
(If you are beginning a thesis in spring semester 2018):


­­Wedesday, January 31, 2018
Thesis proposals due no later than noon on the second Wednesday of spring semester

Friday, March 9, 2018
BURP Proposals for thesis funding due
 
Monday, August 27, 2018
Draft of thesis introduction due no later than noon on the first day of classes for the fall semester, unless other arrangements have been made with adviser.

Friday, September 21, 2018
Secondary deadline for BURP proposals for thesis funding.

Spring ‘19/Fall ‘20 Seniors
(If you are beginning a thesis in spring semester 2019):


­­Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Thesis proposals due no later than noon on the second Wednesday of spring semester

Friday, March 8, 2019
BURP Proposals for thesis funding due
 
Tuesday, August 27, 2018
Draft of thesis introduction due no later than noon on the first day of classes for the fall semester, unless other arrangements have been made with adviser.

Friday, September 21, 2018
Secondary deadline for BURP proposals for thesis funding.

Junior Qual Dates

Thursday, August 30, 2018
For students beginning theses in Fall ’18

Thursday, January 31, 2019

For students beginning theses in Spring ’19

Thursday, April 4, 2019
For students beginning theses in Fall ’19