Biology

Department Calendar

Jump to Important Dates for Seniors or Junior Qual Dates.

Department Events

Seminar Series Schedule

General Important Dates 2020-21

Wed, July Biology Open House (for new students & their families)- 9am via Zoom
Mon, Aug 31
Fall Classes Begin
Fri, Sept 4
Summer Student Research Fellow Poster Session see Seminar Series Schedule for details.
Fri, Sept 11
Approved Independent Study Proposals Due to Registrar
Fri, Sept 11
Biology Majors/Seniors Meetings & Listening Session see Seminar Series Schedule for details.
Nov 21-29
Thanksgiving Break
Mon, Nov 30
Classes resume (online)
Mon, Jan 25 Spring Classes Begin
Fri, Feb 5
Independent Study Proposals Due
Wed, March 3 Biology Dept Summer Reserach Fellowships & Post-bac Applications Due
March 20-28
Spring Break
Wed, May 5
Department End of Semester Celebration

Biology Senior Thesis Deadlines

Fall '20/Spring ‘21 Seniors
(If you are finishing a thesis in spring semester 2021): 


September 9, 2020
Thesis proposals due no later than noon on the second Wednesday of the fall semester

Wed, October 14, 2020
BURP proposals for thesis funding due

Monday, January 26, 2021
Draft of thesis introduction due no later than noon on the first day of classes for the spring semester, unless other arrangements have been made with adviser

Wed, February 17, 2020
Secondary deadline for BURP proposals for thesis funding


Spring ‘20/Fall ‘21 Seniors
(If you are began a thesis in spring semester 2020):

Monday, August 31, 2020
Draft of thesis introduction due no later than noon on the first day of classes for the fall semester, unless other arrangements have been made with adviser.

Wed, September 23, 2020
Secondary deadline for BURP proposals for thesis funding.


Spring ‘21/Fall ‘22 Seniors
(If you are beginning a thesis in spring semester 2021):

Wedesday, Feb 3, 2021
Thesis proposals due no later than noon on the second Wednesday of spring semester

Wednesday, March 3, 2021
BURP Proposals for thesis funding due
 
Monday, August 30, 2021
Draft of thesis introduction due no later than noon on the first day of classes for the fall semester, unless other arrangements have been made with adviser.

Wed, September 22, 2021
Secondary deadline for BURP proposals for thesis funding.

Junior Qual Dates

Thursday, Sept 3, 2020
For students beginning theses in Fall ’20

Thursday, January 28, 2021

For students beginning theses in Spring ’21

Thursday, April 1, 2021
For students beginning theses in Fall ’21