Music Department

Faculty & Staff

Mark Burford

Mark Burford - Details
R. P. Wollenberg Professor of Music
burfordm@reed.edu

Music history, nineteenth-century music, twentieth-century American popular music, African American music.

On sabbatical 2021-22

ShoheiKobayashiHeadshot

Shohei Kobayashi - Details
Assistant Professor of Music, Director of Choral Activities
shohei@reed.edu

Conducting, voice, musicianship, choral repertoire.

Morgan Luker

Morgan James Luker, Chair - Details
Associate Professor of Music
mluker@reed.edu

Ethnomusicology, music of Latin America, cultural politics.

Caitlin-Schmid-headshot

Caitlin Schmid  - Details
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music
schmidc@reed.edu

Musicology, musical avant-gardes, performance studies, music and politics

Kirsten Volness

Kirsten Volness - Details
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music
volnessk@reed.edu

Composition, twentieth- and twenty-first-century music, electroacoustic music.

Performance Staff

Giancarlo-Castro.jpg




Giancarlo Castro
- Details
Conductor, Reed Orchestra

Monica.jpg

Monica Ohuchi  - Details
Director, Private Music Program
Office: PAB 102
503.517.7472
ohuchimo@reed.edu

john-savage-photo.png




John C. Savage
- Details
Director, Jazz Ensemble

Support Staff

wilcox-headshot.png



Charlie Wilcox

Faculty Administrative Coordinator
Office: PAB 133
503.517.5131
cwilcox@reed.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Leila Falk
Leila Falk

Emeritus Professor of Music
lfalk@reed.edu
Emeritus Faculty Virginia Hancock

Virginia Hancock
- Details
Emeritus Professor of Music
vhancock@reed.edu
David Schiff



David Schiff
Emeritus Professor of Music
dschiff@reed.edu