History Department

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Michael P. Breen

Professor of History and Humanities
breenm@reed.edu

Old Regime France; early modern European legal, social, and cultural history; Renaissance Italy.

B.A. 1989, University of Chicago.
A.M. 1990, Ph.D. 2000, Brown University.
Reed College, 2000–.

Personal Website
Hist 352 Renaissance and Civil War in the French World (1494-1610) (fall '09) website
Hist 353 The French Revolution (fall '10) website
Hist 357 France and the French Colonial World (spring '06) website

Sabrina Datoo

Visiting Assistant Professor of History and Humanities
sdatoo@reed.edu

Early modern and colonial South Asia, history of medicine and science, Islam in South Asia, cultural and intellectual history.

B.Sc. Honors 2001, McMaster University, Canada.
M.Sc. 2007, St. Anne's College, University of Oxford.
M.A. 2008, Ph.D. 2020, University of Chicago.
Reed College 2020–.

Jacqueline Dirks

Cornelia Marvin Pierce Professor of History and Humanities
jdirks@reed.edu

American social and cultural history, U.S. women’s history.

B.A. 1982, Reed College.
M.A. 1986, Ph.D. 1996, Yale University.
Reed College 1991–.

Douglas L. Fix

Elizabeth C. Ducey Professor of Asian Studies and Humanities
dfix@reed.edu

Modern China and Japan.

B.A. 1977, University of Colorado, Boulder.
M.A. 1983, Ph.D. 1993 University of California, Berkeley.
Reed College 1990–.

Formosa: 19th Century Images website

David T. Garrett

Richard F. Scholz Professor of History and Humanities
garrettd@reed.edu
On sabbatical 2020-21.

Latin America and early modern Spain.

B.A. 1988, Yale College.
M.A. 1991, Harvard University.
M.Phil. 1993, Ph.D. 2002, Columbia University.
Reed College 1998–.

Joshua Howe (Chair)

Associate Professor of History and Environmental Studies
jhowe@reed.edu

Environmental history, history of science, twentieth-century United States.

B.A. 2002, Middlebury College.
M.A. 2005, Ph.D. 2010, Stanford University.
Reed College 2012–.

Benjamin Lazier

Associate Professor of History and Humanities
lazierb@reed.edu

Modern Europe, intellectual history.

B.A. 1993, University of Virginia.
M.A. 1998, C.Phil. 1999, Ph.D. 2002, University of California, Berkeley.
Reed College 2005–.

Website

Mary Ashburn Miller

Associate Professor of History and Humanities
mamiller@reed.edu

Revolutionary-era France and Europe; modern European cultural and intellectual history.

B.A. 2001, University of Virginia.
M.A. 2004, Ph.D. 2008, Johns Hopkins University.
Reed College 2008–.

Margot Minardi

Professor of History and Humanities
minardi@reed.edu

Colonial and revolutionary America, nineteenth-century United States.

A.B. 2000, Harvard College.
A.M. 2003, Ph.D. 2007, Harvard University.
Reed College 2007–.

Website

Radhika Natarajan

Assistant Professor of History and Humanities
natarara@reed.edu

Modern imperial Britain.

B.A. 2002, Yale College.
M.A. 2009, Ph.D. 2013, University of California, Berkeley.
Reed College 2014–.

Website

Padraig Riley

Visiting Associate Professor of History and Humanities
priley@reed.edu

Nineteenth-century United States, slavery, political history.

B.A. 1999, M.A. 2001, Ph.D. 2007, University of California, Berkeley.
Reed College 2016–.

Emeritus/Emerita

Raymond F. Kierstead

Richard F. Scholz Professor of History and Humanities, Emeritus

B.A. 1956, Bowdoin College.
M.A. 1959, Ph.D. 1964, Northwestern University.
Reed College 1978–2000.

Christine L. Mueller

Professor of History and Humanities, Emerita

B.A. 1967, Carleton College.
Ph.D. 1980, University of Virginia.
Reed College 1973–2004.

David Harris Sacks

Richard F. Scholz Professor of History and Humanities, Emeritus
dsacks@reed.edu

B.A. 1963, Brooklyn College.
A.M. 1965, Ph.D. 1977 Harvard University.
Reed College 1986–2015.

Edward B. Segel

Professor of History and Humanities, Emeritus
segel@reed.edu

A.B. 1960, Harvard College.
M.A. 1962, Ph.D. 1969, University of California, Berkeley.
Reed College 1973–2011.

Website

Staff

Julie Shannon

Faculty Administrative Coordinator
shannonj@reed.edu | 503-777-7771