History Department

Faculty & Staff

  • Michael Breen photo
  • Jacqueline Dirks photo
  • Jacqueline Dirks
  • Cornelia Marvin Pierce Professor of History and Humanities
  • jdirks@reed.edu
  • American social and cultural history, U.S. women’s history.
  • B.A. 1982, Reed College.
  • M.A. 1986, Ph.D. 1996, Yale University.
  • Reed College 1991–.
  • Douglas Fix photo
  • Douglas L. Fix
  • Elizabeth C. Ducey Professor of Asian Studies and Humanities
  • dfix@reed.edu
  • Modern China and Japan.
  • B.A. 1977, University of Colorado, Boulder.
  • M.A. 1983, Ph.D. 1993 University of California, Berkeley.
  • Reed College 1990–.
  • Formosa: 19th Century Images website
  • David Garrett photo
  • David T. Garrett
  • Richard F. Scholz Professor of History and Humanities
  • garrettd@reed.edu
  • Latin America and early modern Spain.
  • B.A. 1988, Yale College.
  • M.A. 1991, Harvard University.
  • M.Phil. 1993, Ph.D. 2002, Columbia University.
  • Reed College 1998–.
  • Joshua Howe photo
  • Joshua Howe
  • Associate Professor of History and Environmental Studies
  • jhowe@reed.edu
  • Environmental history, history of science, twentieth-century United States.
  • B.A. 2002, Middlebury College.
  • M.A. 2005, Ph.D. 2010, Stanford University.
  • Reed College 2012–.
  • On sabbatical 2019-20.
  • Benjamin Lazier
  • Associate Professor of History and Humanities
  • lazierb@reed.edu | Website
  • Modern Europe, intellectual history.
  • B.A. 1993, University of Virginia.
  • M.A. 1998, C.Phil. 1999, Ph.D. 2002, University of California, Berkeley.
  • Reed College 2005–.
  • On sabbatical fall 2019.
  • Mary Miller photo
  • Mary Ashburn Miller (Chair)
  • Associate Professor of History and Humanities
  • mamiller@reed.edu
  • Revolutionary-era France and Europe; modern European cultural and intellectual history.
  • B.A. 2001, University of Virginia.
  • M.A. 2004, Ph.D. 2008, Johns Hopkins University.
  • Reed College 2008–.
  • Margot Minardi
  • Associate Professor of History and Humanities
  • minardi@reed.edu | Website
  • Colonial and revolutionary America, nineteenth-century United States.
  • A.B. 2000, Harvard College.
  • A.M. 2003, Ph.D. 2007, Harvard University.
  • Reed College 2007–.
  • Profile-Pic.jpg
  • Radhika Natarajan
  • Assistant Professor of History and Humanities
  • natarara@reed.edu | Website
  • Modern imperial Britain.
  • B.A. 2002, Yale College.
  • M.A. 2009, Ph.D. 2013, University of California, Berkeley.
  • Reed College 2014–.
  • Padraig Riley photo
  • Padraig Riley
  • Visiting Associate Professor of History and Humanities
  • priley@reed.edu
  • Nineteenth-century United States, slavery, political history.
  • B.A. 1999, M.A. 2001, Ph.D. 2007, University of California, Berkeley.
  • Reed College 2016–.
  • William Smiley photo
  • William Smiley
  • Assistant Professor of History and Humanities
  • smileyw@reed.edu
  • Middle Eastern and Ottoman history, international law.
  • B.S. 2005, Hillsdale College.
  • M.A. 2008, University of Utah.
  • Ph.D. 2012, University of Cambridge.
  • J.D. 2014, Yale University.
  • Reed College 2015–.
  • On leave 2019-20.
  • Brian Tyrrell
  • Visiting Assistant Professor of History and Environmental Studies
  • tyrrellb@reed.edu
  • United States environmental and social history, history of animals.
  • B.A. 2007, University of Notre Dame.
  • M.A. 2010, Rutgers University.
  • Ph.D. 2019, University of California, Santa Barbara.
  • Reed College 2019-.

Emeritus/Emerita

  • Raymond F. Kierstead
  • Richard F. Scholz Professor of History and Humanities, Emeritus
  • B.A. 1956, Bowdoin College.
  • M.A. 1959, Ph.D. 1964, Northwestern University.
  • Reed College 1978–2000.
  • Christine L. Mueller
  • Professor of History and Humanities, Emerita
  • B.A. 1967, Carleton College.
  • Ph.D. 1980, University of Virginia.
  • Reed College 1973–2004.
  • David Harris Sacks
  • Richard F. Scholz Professor of History and Humanities, Emeritus
  • dsacks@reed.edu
  • Early modern Britain and Europe; Atlantic world
  • B.A. 1963, Brooklyn College.
  • A.M. 1965, Ph.D. 1977 Harvard University.
  • Reed College 1986–2015.
  • Edward B. Segel
  • Professor of History and Humanities, Emeritus
  • segel@reed.edu | Website
  • Nineteenth- and twentieth-century Europe, diplomatic history, war and society, the Cold War.
  • A.B. 1960, Harvard College.
  • M.A. 1962, Ph.D. 1969, University of California, Berkeley.
  • Reed College 1973–2011.

Staff

  • Julie Shannon photo
  • Julie Shannon
  • Faculty Administrative Coordinator
  • 503/777-7771
  • Fax: 503/777-7776
  • shannonj@reed.edu