Facts about Reed

Brought to you by Institutional Research

National Academy of Sciences

Members and foreign associates of the academy are elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research; election to the academy is considered one of the highest honors that can be accorded a scientist or engineer. The academy membership is composed of approximately 1,900 members and 300 international associates, of whom more than 170 have won Nobel prizes. NAS is a private, nonprofit, self-perpetuating society of scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.

1959 John A. Simpson
1963 William D. McElroy
1965 Louis Goodman
1976 Clarence R. Allen
Warren L. Butler
1977 Richard F. Thompson
1978 Dale W. Jorgenson
1979 Mark Ptashne
1983 Richard J. Havel
1988 Stanley G. Nathenson
1992 Ronald Lee
1993 Bruce S. Baker
Eleanor E. Maccoby
1997 Donald M. Engelman
Kenneth N. Raymond
2009 Kevan Shokat
2010 Douglas W. Burbank
Robert D. Mare

Also see the distinctions page.