Economics Department

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Youssef Ait Benasser

Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics
youssefa@reed.edu

B.A. 2012, M.A. 2014 Sciences Po. MSc 2014 École Polytechnique. Ph.D. 2022 University of Oregon. Reed College 2022–.
International economics, trade policy, applied econometrics, finance.

Felipe Carrera

Assistant Professor of Economics
On sabbatical Fall 2022
fcarrera@reed.edu

B.A. 2009 Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile. M.A. 2014 Universidad de Chile. M.A. 2016, Ph.D. 2020 University of California, Los Angeles. Reed College 2020–.
Industrial organization, applied microeconomics, economic history.

Denise Hare (chair, Spring 2023) - Details

Dr. Lester B. Lave Professor of Economics
On sabbatical Fall 2022
503-517-7463 - dhare@reed.edu

B.A. 1983 Carleton College. Ph.D. 1992 Stanford University. Reed College 1992–.
Economics of development, labor economics, economics of transition, China’s economy.

Noelwah Netusil (chair, Fall 2022) - Details

Stanley H. Cohn Professor of Economics
503-517-7306 - netusil@reed.edu

B.S. 1986 Allegheny College. M.S. 1988, Ph.D. 1992 University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Reed College 1990–.
Environmental and natural resource economics, public sector economics, law and economics.

Lindsey Novak - Details

Assistant Professor of Economics
On sabbatical and leave 2022-23
lindseynovak@reed.edu

B.S. 2008 Texas A&M University. M.S. 2010 Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies. Ph.D. 2017 University of Minnesota. Reed College 2021–.
Development economics, health economics, economics of gender, behavioral economics.

Jeffrey Parker - Details

George Hay Professor of Economics, Emeritus
parker@reed.edu

B.A. 1974 Drake University. Ph.D. 1981 Stanford University. Reed College 1988–.
Macroeconomic theory, monetary and fiscal policy, growth and technology, economics of higher education.

Jon Rork - Details

Professor of Economics
503-459-4617 - jrork@reed.edu

A.B. 1994 Brown University. Ph.D. 1999 Stanford University. Reed College 2010–.
State and local public finance, urban and regional economics, microeconomic theory.

Staff

Julie Shannon

Faculty Administrative Coordinator 
503-777-7771 - shannonj@reed.edu