COVID-19 Prevention & Response Plan


March 25, 2020

Dear Reed community members,

In response to the Governor’s Executive Order “Stay Home, Save Lives,” the college will restrict access to some Reed facilities. As directed, access to indoor spaces will be limited to people who are performing essential functions in those buildings. We know that these changes will be especially disappointing for students living on campus, and we regret this further impact on our campus community as we follow established guidelines designed to limit the spread of the coronavirus.

Changes include the following:

  1. Students will retain access to
    • the exterior entrances of the Gray Campus Center (GCC) from 6 a.m. to midnight to access food, mail, and the ATM;
    • the east entrance to Eliot Hall from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. to access essential administrative offices;
    • their assigned residence hall (if approved to remain on campus);
    • areas required to perform essential college functions if they are employed by the college.
  2. Students will not have access to
    • academic and community use facilities—such as classrooms, lecture halls, labs, studios, student activity spaces, practice rooms, information resource centers, and all similar spaces—which will remain locked and should be used only for essential college functions.

Staff are working 24/7 in the 28 West building. Doors to 28 West are unlocked during business hours; after-hours entry can be obtained by using the speaker phones at the building’s entrance.

If you have questions about your access, please contact your department head or the person overseeing the space or email Requests for access changes will be reviewed by Community Safety Director Gary Granger and other appropriate staff on a case-by-case basis. Community Safety will provide unlock services to people who demonstrate a verifiable college-related need to access a space.


Mike Brody
Vice President for Student Life, co-chair of the COVID-19 task force

Hugh Porter
Vice President for College Relations, co-chair of the COVID-19 task force