President’s Office

President’s speeches, letters, and articles

Subject: Welcome to Reed’s New Vice President of Finance and Treasurer Lynn V. Valenter

May 24, 2021

Dear faculty and staff,

Following a national search for a new vice president of finance & treasurer (VPF-T), I am pleased to announce the appointment of Lynn V. Valenter. Lynn will join Reed on July 12, 2021, allowing her time to begin her work in partnership with Lorraine Arvin, who will retire from Reed at the end of August.

Lynn comes to Reed from Washington State University (WSU) in Vancouver, Washington, where she is currently the vice chancellor of finance and operations. With more than 20 years of experience in higher education financial administration, Lynn brings a depth of knowledge in budgets and accounting, facilities operations, capital planning, and human resources. During her time at WSU, she has collaboratively developed divisional strategic plans and served as interim chancellor. Lynn has worked in collaboration with Clark County on land use and planning, in addition to enhanced environmental health and safety training, reporting, and guidance.

Lynn grew up in Portland. She has a bachelor of science degree in hotel administration from Cornell University and a master’s of business administration from WSU. She is a current board member and previously served as chair of the National Association of College and University Business Officers, and she is co-chair of the community advisory group for the Interstate Bridge Replacement Program.

Lynn joins a strong, dedicated team at Reed that has been led and shaped by Lorraine Arvin during her remarkable leadership of the department. We are truly grateful to Lorraine for her sophisticated and caring approach as treasurer, particularly during the pandemic.

Lynn’s appointment comes at the end of an extensive search process. I thank the search committee (listed below) and commend them for their successful efforts in filling this important position.

Please join me in welcoming Lynn to our community!

All best, 


Audrey Bilger

Vice President of Finance & Treasurer Search Committee
Hugh Porter (Chair), Vice President for College Relations and Planning
Charlene Makley, Professor of Anthropology
Jan Mieszkowski, Professor of German and Humanities
Dena Hutto, Norman F. Carrigg College Librarian
Eduardo Ochoa ’73, Trustee
Alice Larkin Steiner ’74, Trustee