Student Success

Committee Charge and Membership

As described in Reed College’s mission statement, “The goal of the Reed education is that students learn and demonstrate rigor and independence in their habits of thought, inquiry and expression.” The Student Success Committee was charged to examine the student experience from the student perspective to better understand campus narratives, practices, and policies that either encourage or undermine students’ ability to achieve their academic and personal goals during and after their time at Reed.

The Student Success Plan responds to the Committee’s conclusions and the challenges presented by these themes.

2019-20 Committee members


Mike Brody, Vice President for Student Services
Mary James, Dean for Institutional Diversity and A.A. Knowlton Professor of Physics


Joel Franklin, Professor of Physics
Morgan Luker, Associate Professor of Music
Anna Ritz, Assistant Professor of Biology


Cindy Anderson, Interim Dean of Students
Sandy Sundstrom, Director, Financial Aid
Sara Panetta, Executive Director of Development
Julie Maxfield, Associate Dean, Academic Life
Alice Harra, Associate Dean of Students/Director of CLBR
Amy Schuckman, Associate Dean for Student & Campus Life
Carrie Baldwin-Sayre, Associate Dean of Students for Health & Wellbeing
Britt Hoover, Assistant Dean, Student Support
Kelsey Wirtzfeld, Student Life Systems Coordinator
Tara Sonali Miller, Program Director, SEEDS


Aziz Ouedraogo
Pax Lloyd-Burchette
Shulav Neupane

Previous Committee Members


Derek Applewhite, Associate Professor of Biology 
Mary Ashburn Miller, Associate Professor of History and Humanities
Jennifer Corpus, Professor of Psychology
Charles Daniel, Associate Director, Center for Life Beyond Reed
David Gruber, Director, Office of Students for Academic Support
Dayspring Mattole, Director, Office of Inclusive Community
Julie Maxfield, Associate Dean of Students
Sandy Sundstrom, Director, Financial Aid
Nick Egan, student
Nikhita Airi, student