Facts about Reed

Brought to you by Institutional Research

MacArthur Award

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation awards unrestricted fellowships to talented people who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction. There are three criteria for selection of fellows: exceptional creativity, promise for important future advances based on a track record of significant accomplishment, and potential for the fellowship to facilitate subsequent creative work. Recipients may be writers, scientists, artists, social scientists, humanists, teachers, activists, or workers in other fields, with or without institutional affiliations. They may use their fellowship to advance their expertise, engage in interdisciplinary work, or, if they wish to change fields or alter the direction of their careers. A $500,000 stipend for 20 to 30 recipients annually is paid out over five years.

1982 Charles Bigelow
2000 Gina Turrigiano
2010 Shannon Lee Dawdy

Also see the distinctions page.