Facts about Reed

Brought to you by Institutional Research

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences was founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock and other scholar-patriots "to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people." Members are elected for distinction and achievement in five areas: mathematics and physics; biological sciences; social sciences; humanities and arts; and public affairs and business.

Clarence Allen '49
Professor emeritus of geology and geophysics at Caltech, recipient of the Seismological Society of America's highest award; former president of the Geological Society of America

Robert Brenner '64
Professor of history and director of the Center for Social Theory and Comparative History at UCLA

Joan Bresnan '66
Sadie Dernham Patek Professor in Humanities and Professor of Linguistics, Stanford University

Joseph Bunnett '42
Emeritus chemistry professor at UC Santa Cruz; chair of a multinational task force on the destruction of chemical weapons

Warren L. Butler '49
Professor of Biology, University of California, San Diego; also a member of the National Academy of Sciences; elected a foreign associate of the French Academy of Sciences; and a Guggenheim Fellow. Butler enhanced understanding of photochemical adaptation and pigment systems of plants and developed important concepts and understanding of basic photometabolic processes.

Donald Engelman '62
Professor of molecular biophysics and biochemistry and director of the division of biological sciences at Yale University; member of the National Academy of Sciences; recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and the Francis I Medal. Engelman serves on the advisory panel for the Brookhaven National Laboratory and as a consultant to the Los Alamos National Laboratory.

Neil Fligstein '73
Class of 1939 Chancellor's Professor, chair of the sociology department, and Director of the Center for Culture, Organization, and Politics at the Institute of Industrial Relations, UC Berkeley

Samuel Gubins '64
President and Editor-in-Chief, Annual Reviews, Palo Alto, California

Richard Havel '46
Professor emeritus and former director of the Cardiovascular Research Institute, University of California, San Francisco

Dell Hymes '50
Noted professor emeritus of English and anthropology, University of Virginia; president of the American Linguistic Society and the American Folklore Society; fellow of the British Academy

Steve Jobs '76
CEO and chairman, Pixar; co-founder of Apple Computer, Inc.; founder of NeXT, Inc.; was awarded the National Technology Medal by President Reagan in 1985 as the creator of the modern personal computer interface

Dale Jorgenson '55
One of the most distinguished economists in the U.S.; Frederick Eaton Abbe Professor of Economics and director of the program on technology and economic policy at Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

Ronald D. Lee '63
Professor of Demography, Director of the Center on Economics & Demography of Aging; Edward G. and Nancy S. Jordan Family Professor of Economics, UC Berkeley; fellow of the British Academy

Hans Linde '47
Retired associate justice, Oregon Supreme Court, controversial for his protection of free speech

Eleanor (Emmons) Maccoby '39
Emeritus professor of psychology, Stanford University, specializing in the development of children's social behavior; her many awards include American Psychological Foundation gold medal award for lifetime achievements

Robert D. Mare '73
Distinguished Professor of Sociology, UCLA

William D. McElroy MA '41
A pioneering research biologist and former chancellor of the University of California, San Diego; he was also a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and several other societies

Roger M. Perlmutter, MD '73
Executive Vice President Research & Development, Amgen, Inc.  Dr. Perlmutter received his M.D., and Ph.D. degrees from Washington University (St. Louis). He is director of Stem Cells, Inc., and chairman of the board of directors of the Institute for Systems Biology, a not-for-profit research institute based in Seattle. He previously served as president of the American Association of Immunologists. Most recently, he was elected a 2009 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Mark Ptashne '61
Ludvig Professor of Molecular Biology, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center (James Watson, co-discoverer of the structure of DNA, called Ptashne's work on repressor molecules "one of the major accomplishments of molecular biology")

Kenneth Raymond '64
Professor and chair of chemistry, UC Berkeley; editorial board member of several chemistry journals and winner of three research awards.

Mary K. Rothbart '62
Professor Emerita of Psychology at the University of Oregon. In 1981 she introduced one of the most widely used measures of infant temperament, the Infant Behavior Questionnaire.  She is also the recipient of the Gold Medal for Life Achievement in the Science of Psychology from the American Psychological Foundation, and the Block Award from the Society of Personality and Social Psychology.

Steven Shapin '65
Franklin L. Ford Professor of the History of Science at Harvard University, is the author of Leviathan and the Air-Pump: Hobbes, Boyle, and the Experimental Life; A Social History of Truth: Civility and Science in Seventeenth-Century England; and The Scientific Revolution. His academic focus is at the intersection of the history of science, the sociology of knowledge, and cultural history, and he has been awarded the J.D. Bernal and Erasmus prizes.

Sydney Shoemaker '53
Susan Linn Sage Professor of Philosophy, Cornell University

Kevan Shokat '86
Professor and Chair, Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology, UCSF; Professor, Department of Chemistry, UC Berkeley; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

John A. Simpson '40
Professor of physics, University of Chicago; recipient of numerous awards and citations during his career, including the William Bowie Medal from the American Geophysical Union

Gary Snyder '51
One of America's most distinguished poets; winner of 1975 Pulitzer Prize in poetry and many other prizes

Richard Thompson '52
Winner of American Psychological Association 1999 award for creativity in research; biological sciences director at USC

Katherine Verdery '70
Eric R. Wolf Professor of Anthropology, University of Michigan, award-winning author of East Europe and Slavic studies

Allen Wood '64
Professor of philosophy, Stanford University; author of several books on Marx, Hegel, and Kant

Also see the distinctions page.