Turning off editing
Google Drive files are meant for collaborative work. If you are sharing files you do not want students to edit, make sure you change access from “edit” to “view."
Sharing documents or folders with specific individuals is more secure than link sharing and offers more options for limiting sharing. Students will need to use their Reed Google accounts to access or edit the document, rather than personal Google accounts.
Sharing with a Google Group
IT staff can create a Google Group for your class, which also serves as a mailing list for your class. You can share a file or folder with that group rather than entering all student email addresses individually. If you have already requested a course mailing list, you can simply enter that email address when sharing. Email email@example.com to request a Google Group for your class.
Using a Shared Drive
If you plan to share multiple files with your students via Google Drive, you may want to set up a class Shared Drive. Access permissions for students can be set to view-only or to allow students to add and edit documents. Keep in mind that users on a Shared Drive have the same access type for all documents in the Drive. If you would like students to have different access levels for different documents, we suggest setting up a folder in your own Drive and sharing it with a Google Group. You can then edit access at the individual file level.
Sharing a copy link
You can modify a file's sharing so that people with access to the link will be prompted to create a copy of the file, which they can then edit without affecting the original. This is useful if you are creating worksheets or templates in Google Drive. Note that students may have to share their copied file back with you for you to see their edits.