Spanish Department

About the Department

Faculty and Staff

Iliana Alcántar | email
Mexican literary and cultural studies; contemporary Latin American literature and cinema; gender, trauma, and postmodern studies.

Diego Alonso | email | website
Latin American essay and fiction, literary theory.

Elizabeth Drumm | email
Peninsular literature, modern European and Hispanic drama, literary theory.
On sabbatical 2015–16.

Ariadna García-Bryce | email
Early modern Spanish literature and culture.

Christian Kroll | email
Twentieth- and twenty-first-century Latin American narrative and culture, critical and spatial theory.

Sharon Larisch | email
Spanish American literature, colonial literature, comparative literature.

Mónica López Lerma | email
Contemporary Spanish film and literature, film theory, law and humanities, jurisprudence.

Joan Meyer | email
Faculty Administrative Coordinator

The Spanish House

Spanish HouseThe Spanish House, the "Casa hispánica", hosts many cultural activities during the academic year, including weekly informal "cafecitos" with the language scholars, movie nights, poetry readings, potluck dinners for students and department faculty, dance performances and concerts. These activities provide an opportunity for students across the college to enjoy many aspects of Hispanic culture as they practice their Spanish language skills in an informal setting.

In addition, the Casa is a residence hall for two department language scholars (graduate students from Spain and Argentina), an HA, and 16 Reed students, who wish to consolidate their language skills and further explore Hispanic culture.

The Language Scholars

Important members of the Spanish department, our two language scholars (one from Argentina and one from Spain) live with students in the Casa hispánica and provide cultural expertise in planning activities. In addition, the Language scholars lead weekly "conversation groups" for students enrolled in the first- and second-year language classes and are available for consultation for all students.

The language scholars for the 2015-16 academic year are Bárbara Caballero and Patricia López Gracia