REED HOME Gryphon icon
reed magazine logoSummer 2008

Awards and Honors for Reedies

Class of ’83 Endowment

At their 25th class reunion, participants in the fundraising effort to establish the Class of ’83 Well-Endowed Scholarship met Eddie Weizenegger ’10, a political science major from Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, and their first scholarship recipient.

With an idea that was so crazy it just might work, Sara Nichols ’83 and John Bergholz ’83 hatched the scholarship plan five years ago at reunions. They worked with the development office to create the scholarship, then set out to solicit major commitments from friends.

To date, 47 donors have given $116,427 to the scholarship, $41,000 above the minimum to establish a scholarship endowment.

“We wanted to create fundraising envy,” Bergholz, a higher education fundraiser, told Reed magazine in 2005. Nichols added, “We thought the name reflected the sense of humor of the class, a raunchy, subversive group.

To contribute to the scholarship, or to hatch your own plan, call Reeds development office at 503/777-7573.

Three seniors won Fulbright awards this year. Lauren Abman ’08, a Russian major from Colorado, will be returning to the Smolny Institute of Liberal Arts and Studies in St. Petersburg, where she spent a year abroad, to investigate how glasnost and Putin-era censorship affect avant garde artist books under bookmaking and printmaking artist Yuri Shtapokov. “I’m also creating my own body of work,” Abman says. “I was almost an art major. [With this project,] I can combine art and literature.”

Elizabeth Alexy ’08, an economics major from Ohio, and Andra Brosy ’08, an English major from Portland, were awarded teaching Fulbrights. Alexy will teach English in Malaysia and Brosy will teach in Chile.

This summer, sociology major Zoe Vrabel ’09, from Massachusetts, and English major Madeline Blodgett ’09, from Washington, were awarded PolitiCorps fellowships to attend a 10-week political immersion and leadership training program designed to prepare college students and recent graduates from across the country for a life in public service. The program, which awards fellowships to students who have demonstrated a deep interest in public policy, offers a combination of policy classes, intensive fieldwork, and strategic planning exercises.

Christa Gibbs, Andreea Jurculet, and Stacey Chau, who graduated in May, were honored with the Gerald M. Meier Award for Distinction in Economics, on the recommendation of Reed’s economics department. The award, established in 1998 by Gerald M. Meier ’47, is presented each year to an economics student in recognition of outstanding achievement in the undergraduate program.

Centennial Challenge

Get Your Annual Fund Gift Matched by Stepping Up to Griffin

To celebrate the first 100 years of Reed, alumna trustee Linda Hammill Matthews 67 has issued a new challenge for this fiscal year: if 100 alumni, parents, and friends make a gift at or above the Griffin level for the first time, Matthews will give the college 100 thousand dollars. Spurred on by the success of her last challenge, Matthews is offering this match to inspire Reed lovers to stretch their giving.

To participate, visit or send in the envelope on page 16. To ensure that your gift qualifies for this special opportunity, call 503/788-6631 or email

Griffin Society $1,000 $1,910
1911 Society $1,911 $4,999
Anna Mann Society $5,000 $9,999
Amanda Reed Society $10,000+

Thomas Craig ’08, a history major, received the William T. Lankford III Memorial Humanities Award for his thesis, Loving Souls: Experience and Identity in the Poems of Henry More. His work was honored for its exceptional “writing, organization, theoretical sophistication, and seamless weaving of literature and historical context.” Established in 1983, the award celebrates the memory of English professor William T. Lankford, a nationally recognized scholar of Dickens who enriched Reed’s history and literature programs through his commitment to interdisciplinary studies.

Julia Lazenby ’08, a mathematics major, received the Class of ’21 Award for the exceptional and creative quality of her thesis, Circulant Graphs and their Spectra. The award is endowed by alumni contributions, and recognizes work “of notable character, involving an unusual degree of initiative and spontaneity.” Lazenby’s thesis adviser, mathematics professor David Perkinson, said Julia’s work “exhibited astounding independence, depth, creativity, and good taste.”

reed magazine logoSummer 2008