The Center for Life Beyond Reed

2019 Fellowships and Awards Results

Congratulations to Reed student recipients of national award competitions!

Reed would like to congratulate Rose Driver ’19, who has won a prestigious Thomas J. Watson Fellowship. She will study comics and the communities of artists who create them. Rose will focus on communities in Indonesia, Singapore, Japan, Belgium, Germany, and Australia. The title of her project is, “Making Comics Together”, and will explore how artists support each other through the creative process up until the final product. Read more about Rose's win in the Reed Magazine.

Reed congratulates the following Fulbright recipients: Nathan Modlin ’19, who was offered a combined grant to study comparative literature in Austria, focusing on Kafka, Mandelstam and Orson Welles; Sarah Richmond ’19, who has been selected to be an English teaching assistant in Colombia; Claire Pask ’19, who has been selected to be an English teaching assistant in Spain; Jolon Timms ’18, who has been selected to be an English teaching assistant in Colombia.

Reed College’s own Sperling Studentship has been awarded to Kate Falardeau ’19, to pursue a Master of Philosophy in Medieval History at Cambridge University's King's College with a focus on codicology and manuscript studies. Congratulations Kate! 

Reed is delighted to announce that Ben Scott ’19 is the first Reedie to be awarded a Boren Graduate Fellowship. He will be attending a two year Masters of International Studies program at the Hopkins-Nanjing Center at the University of Nanjing in Jiangsu province.

Reed College also celebrates Pratik Kafle ’22, who has been awarded a 2019 Davis Project for Peace. His proposed project is titled, “HamroPathshala: Shaping Future for Peace”, and hopes to establish the first library and IT hub in Kalikot, Nepal, as well as form a student club led by women and students. The project also hopes to build a web application for long-term collaboration between Nepali students in urban regions and students in Kalikot.

Several Reed alumni were successful as Fellows and Honorable Mentions in the National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSFGRFP) this year. Well done awardees: Sarah Brauner ’16 (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities); Orion Cohen ’18Miranda Lyons-Cohen ’14 (University of Washington); Helena Pedrotti ’17 (Stanford University) and Honorable Mentions: Emma Brockway ’15 (University of Texas at Austin); Danny Heinz ’17 (University of California, San Diego); and Aaron Tohuvavohu ’16!