News of College Header 2001
  Student awards and honors

Two seniors have won Fulbright fellowships to study language and culture in Eastern European countries. Alexander Jordan ‘01 will spend his summer teaching English in several Slovak villages in Hungary. In Sep-tember he will study graduate-level mathematics in Budapest and fully immerse himself in the Hungarian language. After his year abroad, Jordan expects to further pursue his studies at the University of Oregon. His senior thesis was on the number field sieve. Victoria Pustynsky ’01 will study in Ukraine next year. A Russian major, her thesis dealt with “new” vocabulary in Soviet and post-Soviet power discourse.

Darlene Pasieczny ’01 was awarded a Mellon Fellowship in Humanistic Studies for 2001 by the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foun-dation. These prestigious awards, funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, provide $15,000, plus tuition and fees, for the first year of study in a Ph.D. program.Pasieczny will be entering Columbia University in the fall to study twentieth-century modernist art, with a focus on Soviet and Eastern European art history. In her thesis Pasieczny examined the cultural and political position of avant-garde art in the Stalinist regime.

Three seniors were awarded Thomas J. Watson Fellowships for pursuit of independent international research projects during the 2001-02 academic year. This is the first time since 1988 that Reed has had three students in one year win the coveted fellowships. Kraig Kraft ’01, a biology major, will study third world farmers’ attitudes toward agricultural biotechnologies in the Philippines, Peru, Mexico, and Brazil. Jared Pruitt ’01, a history major, will “travel around the world by subway” in the United Kingdom, France, Spain, Germany, Sweden, Russia, China, Singapore, Japan, India, and Taiwan. Lena Eberhart ’01, a religion major, who planned to study perceptions of children with Down syndrome in Turkey, New Zealand, South Africa, and Spain, has declined the award.

New Phi BetaKappa Members
The following 2001 graduates
were elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Madera Gabriela Allan
Colin Stuart Beam
Anna Patricia Bond
Vanessa Dawn Carlisle
Emily Jane Carter
David Jeremy Copeland
Scott Marshall Corry
Stefan Durham
Emily Carla Dykhuizen
A’Nova Ettien
Nikole Kirin Ferree
Jeffrey Allen Flory
Jessica Lynn Gingerich
Mollie Amelia Godfrey
Rebecca Leah Guber
Keisuke Hasegawa
Heather Marie Houser
Alexander Sebastian Jordan
Denise Karen Klymshyn
Kerry Elizabeth Lawrynovicz
Benjamin Huntington Lillie
Rosalie Metro
Mark Nathaniel Miller
Ben Murphy
Dana Elizabeth Myers
Dante Rene Nakazawa
Darlene Danuta Pasieczny
Jared Benjamin Pruitt
Victoria Ann Pustynsky
Samuel Jordan Schaeffer
Stephen Merrell Schuh
Zachary Phillips Schwartz
Sean Michael Smith
Jessica Ross Stern
Courtney Elizabeth Stevens
Timothy Robert Sundell
Tobán Antál Szüts
Lauren Renata Thronson
Alexander Paul Tornow
Sam Lewis Wilcke

Chemistry major Cheyenne Brindle ’02 has been named a Barry M. Goldwater Scholar. This scholarship is awarded to undergraduates who have outstanding potential and intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering. Brindle is interested in bio-organic chemistry, especially as it applies to pharmaceutical design and development. Last summer she completed an internship in physical, organic, and environmental chemistry at Columbia University.

Christina Athena Aktipis ’02 was awarded a $5,000 Morris K. Udall scholarship, the first ever won by a Reed student, but she found it necessary to decline the award. A psychology major, Aktipis is interested in applying psychology, economics, and biology to study the cognitive mechanisms behind decision-making about the environment and consider the implications of her results for public policy.

JJ Miranda ’01, a biochemistry and molecular biology major, received $1,000 as the winner of the Class of 1921 award. This award, endowed by gifts from Reed’s 1921 graduating class, recognizes “creative work of a notable character, involving an unusual degree of initiative and spontaneity.” His thesis was A Protein Model for Studying Cysteine/Helix Dipole Electrostatic Interactions. Miranda was also profiled by the Oregonian in a story about Reed’s commencement: see the article on page 2.

Timothy Sundell ’01 was this year’s winner of the Garlan Prize in Philosophy. His thesis in linguistics-philosophy was Competence, Normativity, and the Problem of Syntactic Rule-Following. The prize, which includes funds for philosophy books, was instituted by a group of alumni in honor of philosophy professor Edwin Garlan, who taught at Reed from 1946 to 1972.

Jessica Stern ’01 won this year’s William T. Lankford III Humanities award. She received $1,500 and a copy of David Copperfield. The award recognizes accomplishment in history and literature, as well as potential for further aca-demic achievement. It honors Lankford, who taught English and humanities at Reed from 1977 to 1983 and was a scholar of the works of Dickens. Stern, a history major, wrote her thesis on Roger Williams and the Narragansett Indians.

James Chavez ’01 and Eleanor Harvill ’01 received Gerald M. Meier awards for distinction in economic studies. Gerald M. Meier ’47 established the award in 1998; it includes a purchase fund of $125 for economics books. Chavez wrote his thesis on the repatriation of earnings in Mexican migration to the U. S., and Harvill, a major in mathematics and economics, wrote hers on the teaching of those subjects in a science museum.

Three students were named Ducey summer interns for 2001. These awards cover the expenses of a 10-week internship with organizations involved in public policy. Lea Coon ’02 is working with the Southern Africa Environment Project, which campaigns to protect ecologically sensitive sites near Port Elisabeth. Clay Northouse ’03 will work for the Computer Ethics Institute in Washington, D.C. to organize a lecture series and conduct research on remedies to ethical problems. Mara Zepeda ’02 will track the effect of recent welfare reform acts on children and work to improve early childhood education and healthcare with the National Center for Children in Poverty, part of Columbia University’s public health school.

Seven students received McGill-Lawrence internship awards from Reed College. Originally funded by a bequest from Marian McGill Lawrence, a longtime friend of Reed College, the awards help cultivate an environment of understanding and respect for varying cultures. Adam Adler ’01 will work for a year coordinating mental health training and organizing district clinics with the Case Western and Siem Reap psychiatric aid program in Cambodia. Sarah Banner ’02 will work as a peer educator working on family planning outreach and health care with Famplan Jamaica. Van Butsic ’03 will work on a plan for farmers with the Oregon Sustainable Agricultural Land Trust and design and teach a course on world hunger and organic agriculture at Summerbridge Portland. Megan Harrington ’03 will travel with the Reedie Jalapeño Cultural Exchange to Jalapa, Nicaragua, where she will work with Friendship City Projects. Armand Perry ’02 will also intern with Famplan Jamaica, developing adolescent outreach programs. Erin Snyder ’02 will establish a writers group with the Austin Homeless Advocate, a grassroots newspaper, and help it achieve 501c3 status. Dana Waichunas ’02 will develop a sustainable internship program with Oregon Physicians for Social Responsibility and establish an initiative on pesticide use on Portland public school grounds. Sarah Wald ’01 will do public relations work on the regional old growth campaign for the American Lands Alliance and will encourage support for national legislation.


next page
Link to Table of Contents page 
Link to Reed Mag  Home 


Reed Magazine Footer

next page
Link to Table of Contents page 
Link to Reed Mag  Home