Contact the Help Desk

Email Quota Management

With the increase in spam and the need to share files over email, users can rapidly go near or over quota.  When this happens, there are several things you can do to free up space.  Below is a list of tips and tricks to help make managing your quota easier.

Delete attachments 

Large attachments you send and receive can easily put you near or over quota.  If you have an email you want to keep, you can delete the attachment to reduce the file size but retain the text of the message in your mailbox.  Deleting attachments can be done in Webmail.

Note: Don't forget to check for large attachments in your Sent folder.

Delete large emails

Deleting large messages you no longer need can also help free up space.  The easiest way to find large emails is to sort messages by size.

Note: When you're near or over quota, mail clients, such as Thunderbird and Apple Mail, may not be able to delete messages.  When this happens, log into Webmail to delete them.

Thunderbird:

  1. Click on the Size column above the list of messages to sort by size.
  2. Click on the large email you want to delete.
  3. If you want to keep a copy of the attachment, download it to your hard drive by double-clicking on the attachment and select Save to Disk.
  4. To delete the entire message, click on the Delete icon from the toolbar at the top.
    Delete
  5. Repeat steps 2-4 for all other folders containing large attachments.
  6. When finished, from the File menu, select Empty Trash to permanently delete those messages.

Apple Mail:

  1. Click on the Size column above the list of messages to sort by size.
  2. Click on the large email you want to delete.
  3. If you want to keep a copy of the attachment, download it to your hard drive by clicking on the Save icon. Save
  4. To delete the entire message, click on the Delete icon from the toolbar at the top.
    Delete
  5. Repeat steps 2-4 for all other folders containing large attachments.
  6. Right-click (or Control-click) on the Trash folder from the left-hand side, and select Erase Deleted Messages to permanently delete the messages.
  7. Click OK when asked if you want to permanently delete the messages.

Back to top

Empty spam folder

Messages marked as spam are automatically moved to your spam folder. Users should frequently check and empty the spam folder for unnecessary messages.

Thunderbird:

  1. Click on the spam folder from the left-hand side of the screen.
  2. On the right-hand side, select the message you want to delete (or hold down the Apple key to select multiple messages; or Apple-A to select all).
  3. Click the Delete icon from the toolbar at the top.
    Delete
  4. From the File menu, select Empty Trash to permanently delete the messages.

Apple Mail:

  1. Click on the spam folder from the left-hand side of the screen.
  2. On the right-hand side, select the message you want to delete (or hold down the Apple key to select multiple messages; or Apple-A to select all).
  3. Click the Delete icon from the toolbar at the top.
    Delete
  4. Right-click (or Control-click) on the Trash folder from the left-hand side, and select Erase Deleted Messages.
  5. Click OK when asked if you want to permanently delete the messages.

Back to top

Empty trash

Messages that you delete are simply moved to the trash folder, which still counts against your quota. You must empty the trash to permanently delete those messages and recover the space.

Thunderbird:

  1. From the File menu, select Empty Trash.

Note: Thunderbird users may find that messages moved to the Trash still show up in the Inbox in Webmail.  There are a couple of ways to handle this:

  1. If you're using Reed's current version of Thunderbird, quit out of Thunderbird and then reopen it to expunge the messages.  On a Mac, go to the Thunderbird menu and select Quit Thunderbird.  On a PC, go to the File menu and select Exit.
  2. Otherwise, click on your Inbox from the left-hand side.  Then from the File menu, select Compact Folders.

Apple Mail:

  1. Right-click (or Control-click) on the Trash folder from the left-hand side, and select Erase Deleted Messages.
  2. Click OK when asked if you want to permanently delete the messages.

Back to top

Move messages to Local Folders

If you're using an email client, such as Thunderbird or Apple Mail, you may save messages locally instead of using up space on the IMAP server. It's important to note that messages saved to your local hard drive will only be accessible from the email client on your computer (you will not be able to see the messages in Webmail) and these messages will not be backed up on the server.  To backup your own email, see our instructions for Thunderbird or Apple Mail.

Thunderbird:

  1. Right-click on Local Folders (from the left-hand side) and select New Folder. Enter a name for the folder and click OK.
  2. Right-click (or Control-click) on the message you want to save locally, and choose Move To > Local Folders > [folder name].

Apple Mail:

  1. From the Mailbox menu, select New Mailbox.
  2. In the Location drop-down box, select On My Mac.
  3. Enter a name for the folder and click OK.
  4. Right-click on the message you want to save locally, and choose Move To > On My Mac > [folder name].

Back to top

Additional email help

For more help on your particular email client, click on the links below:

Back to top